REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING February 12, 2025

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on February 12, 2025 in the conference room at the high school at 6:45PM. Board members present: Molly Welch, Brenda Olson, Jon Karger, Andrew Sorum, Greg Larson, and Staci Allmaras.

Board Members Absent: None

Student Representatives present: Maclain Hovland

Student Representatives absent: Eduardo Sanchez

Others Present: Brian Korf, Rudy Martinez, Emily Evenson, Derrick Nelson, Laura Januszewski, PJ Breen, Cary Haugrud, Amy King, Kate Martinez, Celeste Koppe .

The meeting was called to order at 6:45PM and the pledge of allegiance was led by Acting Chair, Jon Karger.

Greg Larson moved to approve the meeting agenda. The motion was seconded by Brenda Olson and carried with all present board members voting in favor.

Acknowledgements

AAA Award Winners - Grace Backstrom and Charlie Larson School Counselor Appreciation Week: February 3-7 - Thank you to Mrs. Lage ISD 548 School Board - District Award of Distinction

Presentations

Α.

A. Bridge Center

Ms. Celeste Koppe

Administrative Reports

- A. Elementary Principal Mr. Derrich
- B. High School Principal Mrs. Laura Januszewsł
- C. Student School Board Representatives
- D. Finance Director
- E. Superintendent

Mr. Derrick Nelson Mrs. Laura Januszewski Mr. Maclain Hovland Mr. Rudy Martinez Mr. Brian Korf

Staci Allmaras moved to approve the consent items consisting of the following items:

- Approve board minutes January 6, 2025 Regular School Board Meeting
 - B. Financial claims January bills
 - C. Treasurer's report
 - D. Accept Donations
 - Student Accounts \$80 Laura Klimek
 - Viking Butikk \$80 Laura Klimek
 - First Grade Supplies \$3000 Laura & Loren Klimek PRHS Class of 1958 Scholarship Fund - \$9000 - PRHS Class of 1958 (multiple donations) Samtastic Scholarship - \$100 - Central Evangelical Lutheran Church
 - Samtastic Scholarship \$50 Jake Ellefson
 - E. Personnel

Acknowledge the retirement of Doug Bruggeman as PRHS Dean of Students and Activities Director Acknowledge the resignation of Jill Roisum as PRHS Yearbook Advisor Acknowledge the resignation of Chris Hacker as PRHS Assistant Boys Golf Coach Acknowledge the resignation of Tianna Benson as PRHS Special Education Paraprofessional Approve the hire of Amber Wang as Spring Play Advisor at PRHS Approve the hire of Dave Shulstad as Long-term Custodial Sub at VES Approve the hire of Alli Jessen as Long-term Special Education Paraprofessional at VES Approve the hire of Tosha Vogel as Long-term Special Education Paraprofessional at VES

- F. Principal MOU
- G. Read Act MOU
- H. Approve Vending Machine Contract with Viking Coca-Cola Bottling Company 2025-2029

The motion was seconded by Greg Larson and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Greg Larson made a motion to approve the 2025 Seniority List. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Brenda Olson made a motion to approve the Senior Privileges for 2025. The motion was seconded by Staci Allmaras and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Staci Allmaras made a motion to approve the first reading of Policy 504: Student Dress and Appearance. The motion was seconded by Andrew Sorum and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Greg Larson made a motion to approve the first and second reading of the following policies:

101.1 Name of the School District

204: School Board Meeting Minutes

418: Drug-Free Workplace / Drug-Free School

419: Tobacco-Free Environment; Possession and use of Tobacco, Tobacco-Related Devices, and Electronic Delivery Devices; Vaping Awareness and Prevention Instruction

425: Staff Development and Mentoring

513: Student Promotion, Retention, and Program Design

534: School Meals

601: School District Curriculum and Instructional Goals

606: Textbooks and Instructional Materials

615: Testing Accommodations, Modifications, and Exemptions for IEPS, Section 504 Plans, and LEP Students

802: Disposition of Obsolete Equipment and Material

The motion was seconded by Andrew Sorum and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Molly Welch made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Andrew Sorum and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Board Chair

Board Clerk